Labour Party Internal Nominations 2018

At our CLP Meeting on 31st May, we’ll be making nominations for internal elections. Here’s a brief guide to this process.

Why make CLP nominations?
In some cases, such as for the CLP representatives on the NEC, nominations are used to determine who gets on the ballot, with five needed by candidates to secure this. But beyond this nominations are mainly symbolic as all these positions are elected via separate votes either of members or of conference delegates. However, nominations are a key way of signalling support for candidates and of increasing members’ understanding the structures and committees that make up our party.

How will nominations work in the meeting?
We can nominate for a wide variety of committees (explained below) – the NEC, NPF, NCC, CAC – and for the Labour Party’s Treasurer and auditors. 
If candidates are nominated who are not listed on the ballot then they can be written in. 
We will then vote using Multiple Non-Transferable Vote – the same used to elect Councillors, so where for example in NEC nominations there are 9 nominations to be made, you can cast up to nine votes. Where there is one nomination to be made, like in NPF Youth Rep, we will use Single Non-Transferable Vote and you may cast one vote.

Who are the candidates?
There is no central website with all the candidates listed, so we’ve tried to bring them together here. There may be people standing who are not listed. They can still be nominated at the meeting. Click on the links for more information on each candidate – where there’s no link it’s because we couldn’t track down an online statement – if you have a link or a statement as a pdf, then send this to Martin at and he'll add it in.

For the National Executive Committee: 9 to be elected via an OMOV (One Member One Vote) postal ballot of members: Luke AKEHURST, Lisa BANES, Johanna BAXTER, Jasmin BECKETTAnn BLACK, Eda CAZIMOGLU, Yasmine DAR, Huda ELMI Rachel GARNHAM, Ann HENDERSON, Eddie IZZARD, Jon FLETCHERGurinder Singh JOSAN, Jon LANSMAN, Marianna MASTERS, Navendu MISHRA, Nicola MORRISON, Heather PETO, Stephen STANNERS, Claudia WEBBE, Jerry WEBERDarren WILLIAMSPete WILLSMAN, Mary WIMBURY

For the National Policy Forum (London Region): 4 to be elected via an OMOV postal ballot of members: Grace BLAKELEY, Unmesh DESAI, Nicky GAVRON, Yannis GOURTSAYANNIS, John HOWARD, Mika MINIO-PALUELLO, Caroline RICHARDSON, Sucharita SETHI, Carol TURNER

For the National Policy Forum Youth Delegate (London Region): 1 to be elected via an OMOV postal ballot of members: Rebecca FILER, Samiya MALIK

For the National Constitutional Committee: 1 to be elected by a ballot of CLP conference delegates: Daniel BLANEY, Keith DIBBLE

Below is some brief information on the various bodies for which we can nominate:

The National Executive Committee (NEC) is the governing body of the Labour Party, overseeing the overall direction of the party and the policymaking process. It sets strategic objectives on an annual basis and meets regularly to review the work of the party. It consists of 9 people representing members, 13 representing Trade Unions, 1 representing socialist societies, 2 Councillors, 3 MPs or MEPs, 3 members of the shadow cabinet, the leader and deputy leader, the Scottish and Welsh leaders,1 representative each of the European PLP, BAME Labour and Young Labour and the Party’s Treasurer. It has a range of subcommittees including ones focusing on Equalities and on Disputes. The NEC is a key body. For example, they decided all candidates who stood for Labour in the 2017 General Election.

The National Policy Forum (NPF) is made up of more than 200 representatives from all sections of the Party, with the largest part elected by ordinary members in each region and nation of the UK. Other members of the NPF represent Labour Councillors, MPs, affiliated trade unions, socialist societies and other groups. This is the body that makes policy. It carries out annual consultations with members and its report is debated and voted on at National Conference each year. When we pass motions on policy, these are sent to the relevant sub-committee of the NPF.

The National Constitutional Committee (NCC) is the committee who deal with difficult disciplinary matters that are referred to them by the NEC. The NCC consists of 11 members, 4 of whom represent CLPs with the others drawn from the Trade Unions and Socialist Societies.

The Conference Arrangements Committee (CAC) determines the shape of the agenda for Annual Conference, rules on the validity of contemporary and emergency motions, and acts as the steering committee for the conference. People are elected to the CAC by members periodically. This year, five people will be elected by all conference delegates both from trade unions and CLPs. Last year we elected two people to the CAC via an OMOV ballot of all members.

Do you like this page?


Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

The Labour Party will place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better.

Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site.

To find out more about these cookies, see our privacy notice. Use of this site confirms your acceptance of these cookies.